SDLC stands for “Software Development Life Cycle”. It describes the various phases involved in the software development process. The different phases of Software Development Life Cycle are-

  • Requirement Gathering
  • Designing
  • Coding/Implementation
  • Testing
  • Deployment
  • Maintenance

Whereas, Software testing life cycle or STLC refers to all these activities performed during the testing of a software product. The different phases of Software Testing Life Cycle are-

  • Requirement Analysis
  • Test Planning
  • Test Analysis and Design
  • Test Case Development
  • Test Environment Setup
  • Test Execution
  • Exit Criteria Evaluation and Reporting
  • Test Closure

As we know that development and testing are carried out parallely. So, now let's see the mapping between the phases of SDLC and STLC-

Requirements Gathering Requirement Analysis - The requirements documents are analysed and validated and scope of testing is defined.
Designing Test Planning, Analysis and Design - Defining test specifications, analyses and reviewing of requirement documents, risk analysis reports and other design specifications.
Coding Test Case Development, Test Environment Setup - Involves the test case creation, test data and environment setup.
Testing Test Execution - Involves manual and automated test case execution and result logging.
Deployment Exit Criteria Evaluation, Resporting and Test CLosure - Involves checking if all the project deliverables are delivered, archiving the testware, test environment and documenting the learnings.
Maintenance Maintenance testing - Testing required after an upgrade, correction or any change in the software under maintenance.