Difference Between SDLC and STLC

SDLC stands for “Software Development Life Cycle”. It describes the various phases involved in the software development process. The different phases of Software Development Life Cycle are-

  • Requirement Gathering
  • Designing
  • Coding/Implementation
  • Testing
  • Deployment
  • Maintenance

Whereas, Software testing life cycle or STLC refers to all these activities performed during the testing of a software product. The different phases of Software Testing Life Cycle are-

  • Requirement Analysis
  • Test Planning
  • Test Analysis and Design
  • Test Case Development
  • Test Environment Setup
  • Test Execution
  • Exit Criteria Evaluation and Reporting
  • Test Closure

As we know that development and testing are carried out parallely. So, now let's see the mapping between the phases of SDLC and STLC-

Requirements Gathering ArtOfTesting.com Requirement Analysis - The requirements documents are analysed and validated and scope of testing is defined.
Designing ArtOfTesting.com Test Planning, Analysis and Design - Defining test specifications, analyses and reviewing of requirement documents, risk analysis reports and other design specifications.
Coding ArtOfTesting.com Test Case Development, Test Environment Setup - Involves the test case creation, test data and environment setup.
Testing ArtOfTesting.com Test Execution - Involves manual and automated test case execution and result logging.
Deployment ArtOfTesting.com Exit Criteria Evaluation, Resporting and Test CLosure - Involves checking if all the project deliverables are delivered, archiving the testware, test environment and documenting the learnings.
Maintenance ArtOfTesting.com Maintenance testing - Testing required after an upgrade, correction or any change in the software under maintenance.